The Last Song

I have been sitting here for 5 weeks, staring at a blank page and wondering what on Earth I was going to write as the very last post on the love and words blog.   

Does it surprise you that this is how I come back, as promised, after my break? Not only am I closing the blog but I am also closing my Facebook account and a few other social media accounts. I think…ironic as it is, more people are upset that I am leaving Facebook than will notice that the blog is closed. I say that because in the course of things, between what is meant and what I meant to do, the fact that anyone would be bent about my closing down an account (despite phones and emails and other accounts) speaks of how things got a bit off track.

But they didn’t really. What happened was that I should have taken this step a few years ago because for what it was, the loveandwords blog was amazing but everything has its limits.

Sometimes to give life back to something – we have to let it go.

And choose to recognize it again in where it is in other things rather than insist it always stay the same.

It is easy to write that but harder to live it. If you have been following the blog for a while you know that has been one of the struggles – it is so deceptively easy to believe words and speech are real – but they aren’t. Only what we do and how we live is real.

I learned a lot from my experience with this blog. Over 5 years and over 3, 765 posts (or something like that), readership that raged from 185,000 a month to a few hundred and then would surge back up again as I came back into fashion. It’s been syndicated, one awards and now…it is time for me to put it down.

And begin the next step.

The next step, by the way, can be found on my new blog, Empty Stance, which you can find at http://zen-studies-rhode-island.com.

I had said that when I took the break this summer that I was going to finish two books I was trying to write – and I did.

I said all last year I was working on a plan for creating practical change that would work on a personal, local, national and global level – I have.

What I did not expect was also to become so content, so impassioned, so driven, so focused, so happy and so full of joy –  it’s nice.

I have loved writing the LoveandWords blog. I have loved who it has allowed me to meet, how it has challenged me and all the things I have learned. When I started, I had no idea what I was doing and now, in opening up Empty Stance, I know in advance that was is about to begin is a sacred thing and I am in awe of it.

My site, loveandwords, will stay up (and eventually get updated).

The City of Love is still being written and there is more poetry and videos to come.

The mad kitten is fat and happy and spoiled rotten.

And I?

I am nothing at all.

 

The Importance of Details

http://zen-studies-rhode-island.com/blog/blog.html

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

