like butterflies beneath the noonday sun

I have started to notice more how the music in my head changes throughout the day. Which songs or snippets play in response to my moods and else. I sing, I whistle, I hum, I make nonsense sounds to a beat and it just fills a need in the moment. I can tell my moods so much better by paying attention to how the soundtrack shifts. Like in a movie, how it gets faster as something is about to happen, or gently sweet as something beautiful is about to occur.

 

I find myself noticing these things more and I think it is because of the zazen. It helps raise one’s awareness of just what noise is floating through your head. You watch it rise up and float away and go, “Oh…” Funny the distractions that fill us.

 

And I have been doing a lot with my hands these past few weeks. Not as in making things, but in learning how to use them. It seems like everything that I am getting more and more involved in requires specific hand motions, almost dance like, in the air to mark the passage of the action. There is of course, the very specific hand motions of Reiki. But there is also a very specific form to the hand when playing GO (Weiqi, Baduk). Now, as I am becoming more connected to the zen group and teaching the breathing and doing the zen lesson after – I find out there are specific hand forms to that as well.

 

In my head there is music and dancing through the air are my hands. Speaking in tongues, using words that are not there. Now, I listen for my music and I watch my hands. The rest of my body is still as they move, like butterflies flying over the meadow beneath the noonday sun.

–        – – – –

Mokusen’s Hand –

Mokusen Hiki was living in a temple in the province of Tamba. One of his adherents complained of the stinginess of his wife.

Mokusen visited the adherent’s wife and showed her his clenched fist before her face.

“What do you mean by that?” asked the surprised woman.

“Suppose my fist were always like that. What would you call it?” he asked.

“Deformed,” replied the woman.

Then he opened his hand flat in her face and asked: “Suppose it were always like that. What then?”

“Another kind of deformity,” said the wife.

“If you understand that much,” finished Mokusen, “you are a good wife.” Then he left.

After his visit, this wife helped her husband to distribute as well as to save.

 

 

c.2012 Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

