Fixing Perky

I find it rather amusing that as I begin to go into motion again, the blog is shifting and it is returning to its center, where it was just about 3 years ago. The center is where I do more posting of a shorter variety and less of the long, feature article length posts. It is a reflection of the return of motion to my life. Shorter posts, more often and the longer feature-length pieces are off finding their well-paid homes. It is good to see that shift happening again.

I got an emergency project from a client to fix what another writer had created. 100 articles (it was a content job) that can only be described as …perky. My job is to fix perky and return it to professional. Not that you cannot be cheerful and professional, but I swear, I think this writer is descended from the Care bears.

I also had my first experience with understanding a Zen Koan. I have been asked one before but I already understood it, but this one I have been obsessed with. It’s the one I keep posting about “If there are no words and there is no silence, how do you know what truth is?” And the master’s reply, “I remember sitting in a meadow and two butterflies were flying over the field.”

A – I just love the language of it. But, I knew that I totally was not “getting it.” I had an understanding of it based in memory and presence but had this feeling that totally was not it. So, I did what I was told to do. Meditate on it; contemplate it in all my actions. Meditate and focus on my breathing and forget about it. Then think about it some more while walking.

This morning, I sat down to become the mad kitten’s Ferris wheel (also known as assuming the lotus position) and before I even started, understanding flew into my head and I ‘got it.” It is not at all what I was thinking before and then, I found the discipline to forget it and meditate. To let it go and come back to the understanding when I was done with zazen. Zazen in the morning, Zazen in the night. I am up to 25 minutes. Now, I have been told that I must find where my limit is and choose to go farther.

And here I sit, still racing to catch up with work and looking towards a gloriously busy day of work, GO and 4 meetings with people I have not seen in ages.

 

c.2012. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

