Playing the Wind

I have so much to do in the next three days that I am just sort of breathing deeply and evenly and getting it done. I have project deadlines, am spending all day at a memorial event leading guided meditation and doing Reiki, and one of my workshops starts tonight. I am working on a blog concerning the Republicans and Women but it will have to wait until the end of the week. In the meantime…I will babble.

 

This weekend I managed to do something that while I understand what happened, I have no idea how I did it. I went on Saturday to go run the GO academy and played about six games. There are players of all skills there and it becomes like a teaching train. I teach someone less skilled than me and in turn, get taught by someone more skilled. It is a nice balance.

 

During one of the games, one of the higher players was explaining the concept of the wall to me and he would demonstrate the pressure and force of the wall on the board by drawing his hand along the straight lines of the grid towards the opposite side. I understood what he was saying and could see how to do it, but something was bugging me. In a manner of speaking it seemed like a limited way to understand the game – – all walls and straight lines, but it is an excellent tactic.

 

I went home and started reading that book that I quoted yesterday and a light bulb went off in my head. I pulled up the messages I have been swapping between myself and a professional player in Japan and finally got what she was saying. Its been hard, her English is bad, my Japanese is non-existant and her understanding of the game is so far above mine that what to her is a simple concept to me requires a PhD to understand. I reread the messages and understood as far as I can right now.

 

I logged on to Fly or Die, a live Internet GO site, and waited to be challenged.  Sure enough, I was challenged by someone with a rank 3 times my own. We started to play and when I say I won twice in a row I mean I one twice. I won as both black and white (white is normally the weaker side and given a handicap), in under 5 minutes for each game (we were playing a 9×9 board) and I won each game by 44+ points. The guy was horrified. Someone of my rank should not have been able to do that, maybe give him a few moments of challenging play but not to do that in that manner twice in a row.

 

What did I do?

 

I turned my walls into the wind. I played the wind and the wind does not move on polite straight lines. It was a beautiful thing for me to watch happen, all the while knowing that it was intuitive play and it may take me months to come to understand how it worked. I get the concept – GO Is also a living example of the seasons roaming over the Earth. But I do not really recall what I did to make it happen or what mistake he made to allow me to do it.  Now I get what my new friend in Tokyo was trying to say, that “When GO was played by everyone, it was everything.”

 

So much to learn. It is a nice thing to have around and take breaks with throughout the day.

 

Now, onto my piles and piles of work.

 

c.2012. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

