the only thing

this will be short, it has been a long day in a hard week and I am going to watch a movie.

 
I woke up early and realized I had to juggle three deadlines and a 6 hour in person thing with no internet access or break. I looked at my schedule and for the life of me, although I had written down 11 for the start of the personal thing, I seemed to recall a conversation about it starting much earlier. I decided to err to the side of caution and go early.
 
I was phenomenally early.
 
But on the bus down I saw one of the largest…peregrines…hawks…falcons…I have ever seen.
 
Then during the day I saw a single seagull strutting along the roof line of a house, silhouetted against the gathering clouds.
 
Followed by an enormous crow preening himself in a barren tree.
 
I listen to the same CD on repeat for 6 hours. Tony Bennett doing endless Cole Porter duets with everyone from Lady Gaga to Queen Latifa to Willie Nelson. This wasn’t my choice, but for the comfort of someone else. By the end I was alternately feeling hyper-romantical or like I had just broken up with my entire high school class. It took a bit to walk myself out of that strange mood.
 
I got mugged by the two dogs in the house who have discovered that I do-so-too know where the treats are and if they bark, I give.
 
Walking back through the cold down a suburban street I came across the strange site of 12 wild turkeys gathered in a driveway. The biggest was able to look into the back window of the SUV parked there and was fascinated.
 
And the only thing, 
 
the only thing that has run through my head all day is a Buddhist saying:
 
“That for those who do not know,
there is Buddha, 
For those who do know, 
there is no Buddha.”
 
And I got it. 
 
I am in the process of scheduling a series of meetups/workshops centering around meditation and I have looked at tons of spaces to rent. Some are beautiful. Gorgeous. Sacred in their lighting and wood and statues and incense. But I realized, what I want to teach is for people who want to know. And I think I may have found the perfect, barren space with tons of windows and you can hear everything on the street.
 
c.2012. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.
About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

