Laineta on the Wave (excerpt from The City of Love)

In Act 1: Scene 1 – Sadima, the Goddess of War, wakes on a beach unable to remember who she is. The Lord of the Ocean sees her in passing and falls in love, but he cannot speak to her for he has no human form. Laineta the Waves – his twin, offers to find a way for him to speak to Sadima.

Act 1: Scene 2
Laineta leaves, walking towards the Heavens on the back of a rising wave, to seek out Issand, the Creator of Man.

LAINETA
Issand has been known to spin clay
as so all ownership begins,
I am sure he through kindness shall make,
a vessel through which my brother’s heart may break.
For though I know him to shape with good meaning,
his crafts are not known to longevity.

‘Tis madness, folly,
yet to my heart the reasoning is sound.
My brother from shade risen,
the thunder of his voice again tremors earth round.
All at the sight of a stranger,
one any can see
is naked, torn and wounded,
damaged in ways I am sure have yet to be seen.

Who am I to judge
what is flint to his tinder? And how dangerous may be the flame?
I am shamed my question
reveals the depth of my preference,
my unwillingness to upset the stasis,
to have so new a brother again and to fear his leaving so
I would judge his chance for happiness.

To this end, as penance and shift,
I shall go and beg this gift .
I pray to be rejected.
That half-awake my brother shall tarry,
unable to abandon my company.
With shame, I admit his future I would be dull and same and joyless,
to spare me the pain of his absence.
My wounds have only begun to heal.

How long has it been?
Since love’s rage burned through this family?
Setting brother adrift, sister drowning.

How long has it been?
Since I have had to build life around
pieces that were missing?

To reclaim my brother,
to even be blest with his scorn,
to the Ends of the Earth I will go.

To rid his eyes of sorrow,
to unbind his heart and end silence between us,
to the Ends of the Earth I will go.

To beg of the Creator folly,
to plead with him to break vow,
to the Ends of the Earth I shall go.

These are words, only words,
but do I have the courage to step from currents even breath
onto diaphaous cloud?
Water at least permits distorted view of the ground.
Here in Heaven’s realm there is no telling up from down.

Metaphor this,
God’s heavy vision,
my feet unseen walking on unknown ground
towards a place only rumored to be –
to what cliff shall I come?
Driven by guilt and remorse edged by things not done,
on what precipice shall I be found?

Abandon Hope all ye who enter here,
for I have need of my wits now.

 

—-

 

 

c.2011. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in creative, love, poem, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

