last night

Last night, I argued with the cat. For real. I waited and waited and waited for her to come in so I could go to sleep and she….dawdled. When she finally came in, I closed the door for the night.

Everything was cool. Everything was fine. I got in bed. She was fooling around with the treat ball.

Then…I couldn’t sleep. So I got up and sat at the desk to try and bore myself to sleep with some work I really did not want to do. She went to go outside and found the door locked.

She mewed. Once. Which, if you are familiar with the stories about her is unusual. And she sat next to the door and looked at me.

“No.”
“Mew”
“No.”
“Mew”
“No.”

Suddenly, I realized I was verbally arguing with a cat.

In March of this year the results of a study done on the relation between cell phone use and brain cancer were published.

In the study, participants were all plugged into to the appropriate brain monitors and then given a cell phone to hold to their ear. They did not talk on the cell phone. There was no one on the other end.

Participants either received a) a cell phone that was turned on; b) a cell phone that was turned off; or c) a cell phone that was a case only and had been weighted to feel as if it had all its interior doodads. They had no way of knowing which cell phone they had received. They were instructed to hold the cell phone to their ear for several minutes and a brain scan/reading was taken.

Scans were also taken with them holding the phone in a variety of positions and distances from their head.

The results of the study was that there was absolutely no evidence to support that a cell phone would effect the brain in any way that would be conducive to the beginnings of any kind of cancer or tumor.

Wonderful.

But what they did find absolute evidence off and are now seeking a grant to study what happens when someone begins to talk on a cell phone – is that as soon as you take a cell phone is on and put it to your ear – your brain glucose metabolism speeds up by 7%.

Your brain glucose metabolism directly effects your blood sugar and insulin levels. They found that if the phone was 12 inches or more away from the head – there was no increase. The thinking is that the antenna’s magnetic field is effecting that area of the brain somehow.

Which is funny, for me particulary. Because I just found out that I have a blood sugar disorder – which is why I have been getting so rockingly sick and having all sorts of problems. I have had it, they say, since about the age of 6. It has been having quite an effect on my life since then in everything from physical to mental to emotional health. And I had no idea and have been prancing around for over 30 years with this problem thinking that all the issues I was having came from a million other reasons.

What makes the study so funny for me is that I am notorious for hating to talk on the phone. It upsets me, confuses me, angers me. Even when I talk about it I get this kind of shaking agitation and now I know, its not eccentricity, its that when I talk on the phone my blood sugar plummets.

Who knew?
And who knew what the hell happened to the networked blogs on Facebook which is why I am going back to posting in notes. I am tired of trying to keep up with the changes they don’t tell anyone about so I will just post here again.

c.2011 Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

