gone kitten

The Mad Kitten, aka the Teapot Turkey, would appear to be deliriously happy. Instead of coming and directly bugging me when she wants to play, she gets all busy and spends the time collecting all the meece and piling them at my feet. Then she stands up, puts one paw on the chair and reaches up with the other one and whacks whacks whacks my arm like a kid going “heyheyheyheyhey.”

I have been subjected to middle of the night parades up the length of my body. I crack my eyes open and there she is, glassy eyed, purring away, with her face about 2 inches from mine. Then she leans forward and nips a hold of my chin.

She is doing the “womb sleep” where she crawls under the quilt and curls against my stomach and just sleeps so soundly (perhaps from lack of oxygen, I am not sure).

But most striking is the return of “kitten feet.” If you have raised a kitten to a cat then you know what I am talking about. If you haven’t had that pleasure, I will explain.

There is something bizarre and slightly disconnected between a kitten’s brain and their hind legs. They have perfect control over the front half of their body, but their rear quarters act like they belong to someone else and that someone else is 5 feet away and reading a book. MK used to play and play and play and then WHAM! She was dead passed out, but her rear legs would be sticking straight up in the air. Or while playing, they would just do the weirdest things, like it was too much for her to keep track of them.

Yesterday, while laying on her back in my lap, madly batting at a meece I was dangling by the tail, one of her rear legs shot straight up along her body and she wedged her foot in her ear. And continued playing as if nothing unusual had occurred. The other leg was sticking straight out.

It is supposed to be almost 40 today. I will open the door and boot her fine fatness outside for a bit. Last time I could do that there was too much soft snow. I had the door open, she went outside and I went back to work. After a bit I realized I was hearing this piteous chirping/trilling (she can’t meow) and when I went to look, she was like-suspended in the snow. All four legs had drilled through and she looked like a legless turkey on the tundra.

The music part of the soundtrack for the Executioner’s Song is complete. Today, I record the voices.

I am trying to fix the twitter feed to my facebook. It is working fine on my other FB account but has gone missing on my person one. Who knows?

A friend of mine recently directed me to a documentary on youtube called, “The End of America.” It is a very interesting watch. But then again, it was kind of like preaching to the choir. It shows the parallels between the rise of Nazism in Germany, the rise of Fascism under Mussolini in Italy, and the rise of the great-big-whatever in America over the past 10 years.

Tongue in cheek, I have always noted, with humor, that the first major policy initiated by the Nazis was an anti-smoking campaign. But this broke down legislation et al and the similarities are frightening. Well, not really, I think I am already there now with an acceptance of it all. We have long since ceased being a democracy or even a republic. The question is whether we will continue to evolve as a Fascist nation or, will we break apart.

I keep correspondence with a few people (gasp! NO! handwritten letters!!!) who I would consider some of the greatest American thinkers on social and political issues of our time. You would not have heard of them. They have not published. But what they have is enough time to take in, examine, contemplate and understand our patterns. Their theories and commentaries on the state of the nation are very interesting to read and chew over.

But what to do? What to do? Cultural revolution. Simply put. Political approaches are…have been…absolutely emasculated.

Like Egypt. Yay! Muburak is gone! But say hey, when he goes it wasn’t supposed to be the military that took control. By their constitution, it was supposed to be the Speaker of Parliament.

I watch all the conservative nonsense with their conventions and I almost feel sorry for them. They don’t, especially the tea party people, realize that our constitution doesn’t exist anymore – except as a historical herring that is waved around. And all the liberals are heartily distracted by their noise and not paying attention or being effective in preventing several things that should be prevented.

The Bernake thing is still boggling my mind. It really is revealing the extent to which we no longer have a free press. And the extent to which the American public, with all their gidgets and gadgets and Internet access uses all that to update their status on facebook about their headaches rather than access things that could educate and inform them. You want to do something interesting? Go read USA today, Fox news and just pick another American news source to see what they are saying Bernake said. Then go to the BBC and read what the rest of the world is printing about what he said. You will notice there is quite a difference.

I remember a book, at the time I didn’t like it, but now…I see that it was like a swan call for our society. A last ditch effort to wake people up before the MIC (Military Industrial Complex) society could really get a foothold. And it flared in popularity, but decades of dehumanization by industrialism and corporatism had already taken its toll.

The sad thing is I cannot remember the name of the book. But it was about the dumbing down of America and is almost an encyclopedia of things cultural that every person should know.

If you know the title, please post it. I think I would like to read it again.

c.2011 Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in change, current events, life, responsibility, sociology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

