falling crows

I was going to be writing about one thing today and then another thing happened. I will get back to the other in a few days but I have to say, I am dragging through today. My one day of flying back to life seemed to have desired a day of rest after and that is not how the day has gone.

Today though, I have got to mention something that is just striking me as down right bizarre. More strange then the fact that everyone seems to be dressing these days like they are about to jump on their horses and ride across the tundra – the tight pants, the cossack boots and belted jackets – that is bizarre.

But this is strange…

Right before I got ill, I think it was on Christmas day, I tweeted about seeing seeing hundreds and hundreds of crows flying in a tight band, from one side of the city to the other. So many, that as I stopped and watched, and then tweeted, it took almost 5 minutes for them all to fly overhead.

That is a lot of crows. A lot of crows doing something unusual. Thousands of crows. In all the years I have roamed around, although I have seen large groups of crows (which are called a ‘murder’ by the way), I had never seen anything like this. It was breathtaking and creepy as all get out.

On New Year’s day over 3,000 black birds dropped out of the sky, almost simultaneously, in Arkansas.

Just a day or two or go another 500 plus blackbirds did the same thing, only this time Louisiana.

I got interrupted while writing this blog and when I came back this afternoon I checked the BBC feed first and discovered that some several hundred Jackdaws in Sweden just fell out of the sky dead today. A Jackdaw is a small European crow.

The best that anyone can tell so far is that the common issue with these birds is they have injuries consistant with being hit by something about the head and back.

No one mentions that they are predominantly crows or small dark birds that, coincidently, carry the same symbolic meaning.

Now…just about now…I find myself looking up in the sky more and wondering, what is happening up there? What is happening in a pattern, a trail, that seems to be effecting the psychpomps of the earth?

Then again, I think I am still sliding a bit in and out of a fever.

But doesn’t it make you wonder?

c.2011 Cassandra Tribe All Rights Reserved


About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in current events, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

