knock down

For weeks now I have been delicately skating around getting that cold or flu thing that is going around. I would get just far enough into it to recognize the beginnings of sickness, pull back, and do everything right and get better.

Mind you, the flu is not a “hey-hi-how-are-you-doing-don’t-have-a-lot-of-time-right-now-catch-up-with-you-later” kind of a person. The flu/cold likes to come in and have a long chat.

Mine decided they were tired of being put off on Saturday night. I had this weird, tired feeling followed by this absolute train wreck in my head as far as thinking goes and then WHAM! Fever, aches pains stuffy head and a cough that makes me sound like I am the heroine in some Russian novel.

And then a blizzard.

Then I noticed that yes, I no longer have Internet in the house and there are some things I needed to cancel but couldn’t because I could not move and cannot access the websites on the type of phone I have. So, you bet your sweet bippy I lay in bed and came up with backup plans if this should ever happen again.

And then a blizzard.

And I wasn’t going to venture out, but then, I went outside for a moment and sank in the snow. The Mad Kitten (who loves snow) was just spastic and I thought “If not now, when?” and dug out my snowshoes and took off, fever, cough and all into the city.

There is just such a peculiar quality to sound during a snowstorm. I love my snowshoes because they let me float over 4 foot drifts and yet walk across pavement where the snow has been cleared. I walked for hours and felt wonderful.

Then I stopped for coffee and the change in the air temperature sent me into mad coughing fits. I dragged myself home (the short way) and back to bed.

Now here I am, starting my week again, still sick but slightly better. Better enough to sit up and make sense.

c.2010 Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

