hot, dirty words

my my my my my my my my my my

and

oh my

🙂

I went to my first meeting with that new writer’s group, this morning, that would be a Saturday at 8:30 am. That should give you an idea of the…difference in tenor of the group to begin with. Three hours later the six og us rolled out of the cafe absolutely entranced with each other. Writer’s groups can either be duds and slightly painful experiences (similar to the experience of brussel sprouts when a child) and sometimes, they can just be the right combination of the right personalities and skills and it just rocks and rolls.

This was definitely the latter. It is an amazingly diverse group, with some of them driving in from Massachusetts and Conn. to make it. We have people who have published, people who are just facing the reality they want to right, a person returning to a story begun 20 years ago; memoir/fiction, mystery, autobiography, an essayist, a dramatic poem and I swear, the new Henry James (only it would be Henrietta this time around).

Once we got a feel for each other’s projects it was really interesting to see how the critiques changed on the spot. Like, I had a real problem with this one character a woman had created until I got the background and realized the story was set in the 80s, and everything that had bugged me about the character made absolute sense and was perfect.

We left – laughed out – and absolutely enthused about getting another 3,000 words together for next months meeting.

It didn’t hurt that it was near to 60 today.

Nothing hurt just the wonder of the day.

Every so often, you need a day where the entire focus is on, and is kept on, what is good, glorious, and life giving.

Today is one of those days.

c.2010. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in creative, life, poetry, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

