and she said

today was one of those exceptionally off days, all for good reasons, but still…just a hair frustrating. First, it was obvious that I ate something that my body was just not a fan of at all, then I just felt ill and off an kept sleeping before I realized that I left both heaters on and with the warm spell it was 85 in the house.

In an effort to restart my day I wandered off to have coffee with a friend who has to be at work at 3am in order to be a part of the make-up team for that new zombie series. I do not envy him having to get about 3,000 zombies in make up in about 2 hours.

and as I was bopping down the street listening to my music I became aware of a helicopter circling overhead and remembered that Obama is in town for dinner. I rounded the corner and saw that infront of the cafe was a small horde of people waiting for his motorcade.

It was just one of those odd moments, I joined in and texted my friend that he had best take an alternate route.

Obama came and went, he was going only a few doors down so while we sat and kibbitzed over bread and coffee we could hear the protesters doing their thing.

A woman and her small boy walked by and the boy asked something about why that man was yelling in the street and she said, ” he may be yelling today but he will pay for it tomorrow when he wakes up and can’t speak and that’s why we don’t yell in public.”

More and more I am toying with the idea (dream) that voting would become something you would have to be licensed to do. You know, pass a test on basic civics, government and constitution type things. Just a little test to make sure you at least have basic knowledge of how the whole damn process works. It kills me…and color me old fashion…that while we require this knowledge in order for people to become citizens we have stripped the education of civics from our schools where our insta-citizens are raised. Now-a-days what little we teach about how our government works we teach to elementary and middle schoolers, not those closer to independence, voting and adulthood.

No wonder everyone I know who is high up in any type of state or federal policy is either a naturalized citizen or a first generation insta-citizens. Very few who are away from that part of learning about how all this is put together and works have the wherewithall to be a part of the nuts and bolts of it working. They are capable though of filling the kind of “news anchor” position of the politician – where intelligence, understanding and application are not requirements, nice hair and good speaking abilities are.

I had these weird dreams last night. It is a “hangover” from my latest round of clinical hypnotism and lots of old baggage gets opened up and the contents shaking out on the floor of my dreams and then cleaned up and finally put away. But I had a series of them last night and woke up with this small idea of something I wanted to do. But the idea in and of itself was scary (for me). A few trips through google and I found out it is possible. A few hours of hemming and hawing and I sent an email. I will start off on this venture either this Weds or Sunday. The details will be forth coming as I learn more about it myself.

And I printed out a copy of the city since I have managed to claim “sun on the screen” procrastination rights for working on it as late so if I did manage to get one thing done to day it was to begin to tackle my excuses for not working on it. Little by little you meet and overcome the excuses and then you are left with one big painful moment of realizing why you have been avoiding something and then you go on. Of late that seems to be how it is working.

Ok…coffee…I am under the impression that I am going to stay up late and redeem the day but somehow I think I may just shift gears and get other things done that need doing and that I can focus on.

c.2010. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

