Drama and Theme

Sometimes

like yesterday, you see or read something that just makes you absolutely indignant with your sense of injustice and harm in the world. You stand on the proverbial mountaintop (or blog in this case) and thump your chest, stomp your feet and proclaim to stormy skies “because I have noticed this it shall be undone!!”

Cue dramatic thunder clap

of course,

you are hardly the first person to notice whatever is going on. And for me, given that I get my news off the BBC or Newsy primarily, many many other hands and eyes have been apart of it all before it ever came to my oh-so-special attention.

But in some cases, then I bring it to yours…and you stand and thump and stomp and make your proclamations

and on and on…

the question that arises is…what do I do after I have thrown my hissy fit on my mountain top and what do you do after you have thrown your hissy fit on yours?

a lot of the times the honest response is: “nothing.”

There is pain in saying that and a deal of guilt, but it is the truth. All of our small dramas most often come to naught. While consciousness may be raised and awareness may be raised unless there is a direct action that is then taken from that then the whole thing was just a show. A lot of lights. A tin sheet rattling to produce thunder and give the sense of impending doom. Maybe the actors even got drenched in a carefully managed downpour, but not one of the audience ever gets wet.

What we do after our “awareness” is captured is what makes a difference. You can dedicate your entire life to raising people’s awareness, but if you are not partnered with someone who dedicates their entire life to providing a course of action to address the issue then really, all you have been doing is breathing a lot of air.

Upset people rarely make good choices.

Upset people can calm down into driven and motivated people.

I rewarded myself today with a cabbage, a pack of sausages, an onion and one carrot. Oh, and a potpourri crockpot I found for a dollar ninety-nine. I will probably get some type of poisoning from it but hey, I am 42, smoke like a fiend and live in a city – which poison would I like to blame? But something happened today that I have been working very hard towards for the past year or so.

And it happened so fast I almost missed it.

But all of the things that I do – from the blog, to the workshop, to the hack writing, to the homily, to the poetry, to the videos, to the courses, to the this and the that – when I put together my schedule for the week…each and every one of them centered around the same theme. Only each one of them fulfilled working with that theme in a different aspect. From the point at which I am working at raising awareness to the point at which I am formulating action to the things I am taking action on – they are all related. They are all integrated. My life and my work have merged to become one.

Now, its not like I have this down pat yet – next week may be a hot mess. But I am touching a kind of unity in my effort and purpose that…sent me out to buy cabbage and spiced sausage and made it all taste like the best dinner, the most luxurious dinner I have had in years.

It is not enough to lead people, do you know that? You also must have someone to follow. For if all you do is lead, then you lose that bit of yourself where you become the active part of someone’s larger vision. Its a circle, a path, a journey – your larger vision gives someone else the form to act in, and you act in someone else’s vision and so on and so on. No one person can hold the enormity of the universe and life in their mind, but all of us can see and act on the different parts until our lives become unified, whole and integrated together. So not one of our lives is considered separate from another. So not one person is left behind.

c.2010. Cassandra Tribe. All rights reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in change, current events, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

