coupons

I have confirmation now that the Mad Kitten has not been sick, but instead, handles stress poorly. In the past week, two cats have come into the yard to bug her…they have learned that all they have to do is sit a few feet a way and stare and she goes to pieces and a little dog moved up on the third floor that comes down to the yard. She…falls to pieces, reverts to a wild animal and then throws up profusely.

Now, at least, she just has a fit, hides for 20 minutes, throws up and then has to stay on top of me for an hour (physically) and then she is fine – but not inclined to go outside for another 8. Which is fine with me because it is getting a touch brisk out.

I am racing around today (which is an amazing thing to do since I am glued to my chair) getting ready for tonight’s special show “Prayers for 33 Miners” and trying to keep up with my everything else.

And honestly….cold, poor and hungry – I cannot remember the last time I felt so good and happy and just…like I was having fun. Having a sense of purpose and an action to do can allow someone to survive anything, to keep going and to let the rest of everything right itself in the time it needs. I have had, in the past week, so many small bombs go off in my life it is unbelievable, but…here I am. Enthusiastic. Nothing has changed for the better in my circumstance but me.

Now I have to try and catch up and finish my notes for tomorrow’s first session of “Writing you Self into Life.” I found something the other day that will definitely enhance the first class. But everything has to be done tonight because tomorrow I get to treat my bicycle like a car and be in six places at once and two states, but all towards something. In the middle I pause and teach for two hours.

Life should always be this good.

OMG

I almost completely forgot to write down why I called this post “coupons.”

You know how I have been having these lucid and overwhelmingly symbolic dreams of late as my mind sorts through things? Well, at the tail end of one there was this little scenario that had nothing to do with anything, but I popped my head up in the dream and said “That’s f–king too funny, why did my mind come up with that?”

You know the whole deal with carbon coupons, where businesses or people can buy “coupons” that pay for some tree or something being planted somewhere else to offset their carbon footprint without requiring them to actual do anything about changing their impact?

In my dream there was suddenly this big screen infomercial about “sushi coupons.” The infomercial was aimed at kids and was hawking a specific kind of greasy, dripping, fatty roastbeef sandwich and it was saying that everytime you bought one and ate it you received 1 point of sushi, once you had 5 points you could create a sushi coupon that when asked (or told) that you should eat better and have more fish in your diet you could hand the person the coupon and say, “I already ate sushi so I am good for another week.”

c.2010. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

