doing it

what is it that renews the spirit? Is it making it through the first week of a committment to “change one’s diet” where you wake up into the second week and feel sort of awful but start doing it all anyway and feel better?

or,

is it that you wake up into the second week and feel sort of awful and run down to the gas station to get a cup of “Hyper-Caf” and then start doing it all anyway and fell better?

I vote for a mix of the two but I definately won’t deny that the Hyper-Caf helped.

The mad kitten and I did something we have not done in…..months…nay almost a year last night. We were in bed by 6:30, belly to belly, and out like a set of christmas lights. I woke up and posted around 11, she went outside for a few minutes, and then we were back in bed and just snoring away together until this morning. Who knew we were so tired?

And it is labor day here, a holiday for some, for others (like me) work goes on, but it almost has a holiday feel to it because this weekend I actually managed to catch up and finish some things. That is not really accurate, they become “done” because I have been steadily picking and poking at them all week.

Its funny, as I try to hold to my three times a day of returning to center with that repetition, what I notice interrupts it and what doesn’t. Its funny too that I am recognizing that even if it doesn’t give me that blissful centered feeling when I do it, that the act of choosing to do it helps. I may be all woooohoooo but I settle down. Of course, the times when it does apply the immediate-bliss salve is preferable.

Today, in the midst of my all, come hell or high water, I am going to break out my type writer and rough draft the Turtle. I haven’t thought of a title for it yet because everything I come up with also comes attached to a huge picture of Sting from the 80s and I just shiver.

I will also be returning to Sunday Radio this week with a show on Rhythm. So I have to prepare for that.

Holidays that don’t exist. Turtles with no names. Rhymes with reasons waiting to be discovered.

It is a good way to start the week.

c.2010. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in change, creative, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

