Bacon Salt Lip Balm

I have been thinking about the blog all day…pondering things, and then I focused in on what I would write…but had no idea what to call it…and then

for reasons I will not share

I was introduced to the concept of Bacon Salt Lip Balm

and thought…OMG…what a great title, what a disgusting thing…

then again these days, meat flavored vodka is all the rage…

I had the opportunity today to ride my bike with a evolving friend and enjoy myself. In company. By this I mean that I love riding my bicycle by myself all speedy and long distance, but it was just a sheer joy to putter, stop, look, talk, pedal, stop and go.

We saw…cranes and herons and swans sticking out their big black feet. Had a rest stop with a squirrel who would sit up and hold his little hands in front of him, showing his white belly and then drum his back feet while he did this really bizarre kind of shuffling dance towards us.

And we talked…and then I went to see a friend who fed me copious amounts of food and we talked, and then I pedaled off to pick up something and wound up talking (btw, it was like 100 here today) and then I came home all hot and exhausted and laid down for a nap and was interrupted by a rap rap rapping at the cave door and it was two kids asking if I had water.

They were my landlord’s adopted children from Guatemala. She is almost seventy and adopted them not that long ago. Which, of course, led to many a speculation about the appropriateness of that…until I saw them with her. She wears “mom” like a crown of flowering vegatables and should she fall to the ground, it was more then obvious that for those children, what sprang from the falling seeds and grew – even without her presence – would be beautiful and a gift. We drank iced water in the driveway and noodled around.

She admired my orange shoes.

The little girl said she thought they were great.

The little boy balanced the water jug, upside down and with water still in it, on the top of his head.

And then they were gone. The evolving friend, the old friends, the new found ones and here I am.

Sitting and thinking.

And deciding.

Here is something I am going to do, and I am inviting you to join me. Its adapted from a project I am working on.

But for the next twenty weeks….

every day,

which brings us to the beginning of December

I

am

going

to

feed myself.

I am going to select the book of my choice, one that whenever I read it I get inspired or informed or whatever….and break it down into sections – one for each day of the twenty weeks. I am going to read one section a day.

I am going to find a phrase or something brief, almost meditative, that fills me with peace and 3 times a day…I am going to give two minutes to just repeating it in my head.

Once a week, I am going to pick something about myself that I well and truly like as far as a character trait and I am going to make the whole week about doing it more.

I have been thinking, more and more, about Chesterton and several other things and the veracity of the concept that we undo ourselves when we try to fix or change what is wrong; that we would be better off simply trying to define what is good, right and healthy and starting there. Start to practice what should be, instead of struggling to correct what is.

If that makes sense.

So I thought, let’s begin with what one eats…mentally, emotionally, spiritually. Lets shore up what we know is good and stopped worrying about the other. I wonder what will happen.

As part of this, even if it contains only  “heyhowareiamfinetalktoyoulater” I am committing to posting every day for the next twenty weeks.

This could be very interesting.

c.2010. Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in change, creative, life, love, relationships, responsibility. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

