understanding

I know I have rambled on periodically about how sometimes the nature of writing, particulary with poetry I find, is that you realize that you cannot really write on a certain theme and subject matter without going off and educating yourself a great deal more.

That s what has happened with the City of Love, I am…filling in gaps as I go, learning things and having to make some changes in my life before I can progress with it. Combined with all that is my fore-knowledge that the big piece after is called “The Art of Dying” and that just opens up a whole broad area of “I-don’t-knows.”

So I am reading. Not just reading but doing. As I learn things I am going out and engaging more with people and areas of life that have been more or less, experienced only personally or maybe just theoretically. I have started volunteering. I am doing a ton of things that involve relearning how to listen.

One of the things I have had to crash educate myself in is Alzheimer’s. Now, I know alot around Alzheimer’s but, as things go, it is something that is about to enter my life in a very real and present way. I have had to go beyond just “knowing” about it to preparing myself to actually dealing with it.

I found this. If you in anyway are dealing with someone with Alzheimer’s I really recommend that you take the time to read through this material. There is also a section that focuses on what to do if you have been diagnosed with the disease. If neither of these apply to you, I recommend that you find time to read it anyway because even if the disease does not directly touch your life ten to one it is effecting someone you know as a caregiver. And beyond that, the research done on the nature of communication is…downright illuminating. I am reworking the next workshop on performance to take this into account. It is subtly changing how I am approaching performing in the new video as well. Who knew that there are three main forms of communicating? I mean, most of us know this to some degree but to see it separated out and to have examples of how it works is just…illuminating, to repeat myself.

http://www.alzheimer.ca/english/care/intro.htm

I went out with the bike group again this weekend, which is why you did not hear from me. A short ride, 22 miles. 34 with all the fool biking I had to do to get from the bus to the tip of the island an hour and a half a way and it was beautiful. I got there early enough to just sit, for the first time this year, and watch the ocean. Funny how easy it is to let your world become so small it is all literally within a 2 mile radius.

I realized that I hadn’t left Providence in over 3 months. Not even for a day trip. Naturally then I start yammering on about how I want to plan to get out of the city more often but the reality is that won’t happen, but if at least I can take a bus every so often, maybe once every 8 weeks and get out – that would be fine.

We forget both how easy it is to do these things and how necessary. The bike ride, short as it was, was chock-a-block with hills. Which is something considering I am basically in a sea level state.

And I tweeted last week that I learned to shoot video with mirrors. Let me clarify that, I have learned how to shoot video with mirrors, it does not mean I have learned to do that well yet.

🙂

As I continue to work on the shooting script for the Executioner’s Song I am continuing to practice with the mirrors. I am slowly getting a firmer idea of what I want to do. Plus I had to bite the bullet and learn Final Cut Pro for real.

I was so good. For the first time in my life I went and did all the instructional videos et all before trying to use the program (sort of, remember how I bitched last year about it? That was because I just tried to use it without learning anything about it). This reading instructions before hand is new for me.

So there I was…all trained and crap and I went to use it and nothing worked.
Nothing worked at all the way the fancy videos said it would.

I wound up youtubing around and found a video by a woman that showed me the itsy bitsy button that was never mentioned in the official videos that like….made the damn thing work.

Getting there. But it also opens up a whole new vista of quality for the new video.

On and on. I will be recording more Chesterton later.

The mad kitten is officially fat. I cannot avoid it. She tips herself over when she tries to lick her back. I am starting to cut back on the treats and put an end to the all-day-buffet of cat food. Trying to do it subtly so I do not trigger her extensive passive agressive skill set. Last time I tried to cut back on the buffet she stomped around the house and then would sit infront of anything that contained liquid (coffee cups, sports bottles, bottles of water) wait until she had my attention and then tip them over.

That and take my keys and stuff coins in my shoes.

Ahhhhhh the joys of supporting a freeloader.

c.2010 Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in art, change, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

