the mad kitten

is shimmying along the floor, swinging her head back and forth, while simultaneously pushing my shoes along in front of her (the heel balanced on top of her head) and slapping her grubby little paws at the enormous mouth that is trying to hide beneath said shoe.

None of the strings are currently in place on my violin.

My house is a mess, I am not that much better and I have my hands, head and feet firmly stuck in a million projects that are slowly starting to sing. And oh yes, it is going to pushing up into the 90s again today with just a bunch of humidity.

I am…trying to find answers to a series of questions I have had to ask myself of late. And it is funny how the questions begin and then change. That, I think, is one of the benefits of dipping one’s head into therapy on occasion, the questions get realigned.

And I will paraphrase the question here because I think…its one that doesn’t get asked a lot. We tend to drift into rewordings, but the question is ‘what do you need in order to understand what someone is really saying?’

I think, for me, things tend to get a little one sided as the focus is usually placed on the question of, ‘what do I need to say for someone to understand me?’ But I haven’t really sat and thought about, what bits and pieces I need to understand someone else in their reality.

We tend to be pretty good about believing we understand others through the lens of our own reality, but it is a damn artform to be able to understand someone in theirs.

Which has led me back – because this is how I do things – to the radio show coming up on the last letters between Edgar and Sarah. And I looked a little further and began pulling out her poems by date and matching them in time frame to his letters. It is fairly well known that a lot of what she wrote concerned him so I started to look at them as responses to his letters.

Then MK comes charging in, I have started calling her ‘thunderpaws.’ The new game is to try and discover, without having to really look too closely, what she has managed to capture and bring inside. We had one go around with small furry creatures and then she discovered bugs. Now she has a little harem of enormous dragonflies and moths that she harasses, but she still hasn’t forgotten her squirrels. I went out yesterday and she was just sitting there by a tree while 3 or 4 of them ran around her.

So strange.

The heat is strange.

Life is just so…continuously evolving. I am hoping to take another crack at the song this week, I would love to try it out on the speakeasy but we shall see how far it gets.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

