when it counts

so….I have been reading all this stuff and things are brewing and changing around in my head, plus I have been having some stellar conversations in the comments on different sites (but been lazy with the little flowering so I haven’t spread the wealth)…

and…

around midnight last night I was sitting in an airport

reading on crackberry crackberry the book that is really pulling things together for me and trying to figure out how I was going to keep reading it, thinking on it and then explaining it to you all when it hit me.

I would record it for you.

What the hell, I mean it is in the public domain so I can. These are not fancy recordings, I am keeping them short and dry, just me and the little Olympus and crackberry crackberry. I will post them in the blog as I go and they will be in the reverb player. Each section will be about 8 mins long.

But….its the kind of stuff that I think you need to hear and not just my interpretation of it but the actual original version. It is called “What is Wrong with the World” by GK Chesterton (who once upon a time was very well known) and while some of it is antiquated the language is simple and accessible. And the ideas are just…make so much sense. It makes you wonder what happened to the world that we threw away knowledge like that. I feel like…I have just been saved from several years of re-inventing the wheel.

What is Wrong With the World (Part 1)

by GK Chesterton (read by Cassandra Tribe)

Public Domain

(and by the way, what he is saying is not just about the state of the world and humankind but applies to how our culture, literature etc. has sort of gone off on a tangent so it applies to the arts as well)

c.2000-2010 Cassandra Tribe. All Rights Reserved.

About cassandratribe

"There are few artists that can do what Cassandra Tribe does. Whether with her poetry, her videos or her blog, Cassandra examines the truths that most of us can never come close to realizing and shows it for what it is, both beautiful and frightening at the same time. She exposes our inner-most workings like the cross-section of a powerful but flawed machine, our gears and springs, nuts and bolts removed and laid out before us. She is a true artist. Her new video, Requiem for a God, is the latest example of Cassandra's willingness to tear open and examine the very things that make us human. Shooting the film entirely by herself, she also eliminates all the little excuses we come up with to keep us from ourselves and our truth. You see, even when she's not trying to be, Cassandra Tribe is a beacon of truth and humanity in this darkest of worlds." (Michael E. Quigg, The Culture Network, June 2009)
This entry was posted in audio book, sociology, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

